Patient Reviews

8 Reviews
Review for: The Minnesota Center for Minimally Invasive Dentistry Date Reviewed: March 15, 2016

Mark is the absolute best. I recommend him and his team to everyone. No matter where I live in the world, our family will always use his services. Worth traveling the world over for. Thanks Mark!

Tony Z.

5 out of 5 rating
Review for: The Minnesota Center for Minimally Invasive Dentistry Date Reviewed: September 9, 2014

I suffered from migraine headaches for 25 years. Medical doctors prescribed twenty-three different drugs, physical therapy and biofeedback, and nothing helped.

The headaches would last from 3days to thirteen days. I found information about the NTI splint on the internet.

After working with Dr. Malterud for a couple of weeks to get the right fit for my NTI, the results are great. I’may still get a headache but only for a few hours and not severe.

The NTI has made my life with headaches almost pain free.

Judy Wiedl

5 out of 5 rating
Review for: The Minnesota Center for Minimally Invasive Dentistry Date Reviewed: August 18, 2014

To Whom it May Concern:

This is my own personal testimonial to the effectiveness and wonderful relief Dr. Mark Malterud’s NTI device provides for me. Injured at a young age in sibling child play, my jaw clicked and was painful for many years before finally being diagnosed with TMJ. My first device was literally a hockey puck guard, which was the most God-awful thing!! It did little to relieve my facial pain and actually made my headaches and clenching worse. I quit wearing it.

After changing to Dr. Mark’s Dentistry office in the mid 90’s he told me of this device due to witnessing my painful muscle spasms. His device really interested me due to the size, very small – fits on my two front teeth and also eliminated my clenching altogether!! I no longer have the headaches, facial muscle, jaw and teeth pains and I’m actually a happier person all around!! It has helped my teeth out by not requiring redoing of fillings. I’m not grinding my teeth down anymore either!! People see me smiling all the time and I believe my life is much more pleasant due to this device. It’s worth every penny to me plus some!! I will always wear it at night to bed, it’s the best!!

Happy Patient

5 out of 5 rating
Review for: The Minnesota Center for Minimally Invasive Dentistry Date Reviewed: July 11, 2014

I have suffered from TMJ, a clicking in the joint of my jaw, since childhood. As a result, I’ve even had my jaw dislocate a few times in my life, simply by yawning. As I grew older, I found myself clenching my teeth, especially during times of stress. Eventually, this clenching intensified into grinding in my sleep. This resulted in the wearing away of my teeth.

This is when I sought out the help of Dr. Malterud. At that time, he fitted me with a night splint that prevented me from grinding my teeth down any further. After a few years, Dr, Malterud introduced me to information regarding new technology in splints that he felt would not only keep my teeth from grinding together, but would also relieve the clenching and resulting tension in my jaw and neck.

In July 2002 he fitted me with an NTI. The result has been a relaxation in my jaw that I have never experienced before. I know that the NTI is correcting the position of my jaw because of the reduction of the Click in my jaw. I also have a noted decrease of the tension in my neck muscles and experience fewer headaches.

The results have been so powerful, that I can’t imagine ever sleeping with out my NTI in place. In times of stress I will pop in my NTI and feel the results in minutes. I could not be happier with the outcome of the use of this device.

If you suffer from teeth clenching or grinding, tension headaches or TMJ, I highly recommend trying the NTI device. You could be smiling too.

It is truly a reason to smile.

Mary P

5 out of 5 rating
Review for: The Minnesota Center for Minimally Invasive Dentistry Date Reviewed: May 5, 2014

I can’t thank you enough for recommending the NTI splint that you fitted me with about 3 years ago.

I had suffered severe headaches for better than 10 years, and from the first night I wore the splint have not suffered from one headache. I didn’t realize that I was clenching my teeth while asleep, which in turn, caused brutal headaches.

My daughter who suffered from chronic headaches was also fitted with an NTI splint and her relief was as dramatic and successful as mine.

I would strongly urge anyone who suffers from chronic headaches to be fitted with an NTI splint, and I would be happy to discuss my experience with anyone who would like to call me (phone numbers available on request).

The NTI splint has actually changed my life and was like a miracle in treating the cause of my headaches.

Gratefully yours

Marcia Sansby

5 out of 5 rating
Review for: The Minnesota Center for Minimally Invasive Dentistry Date Reviewed: November 15, 2013

It’s hard to believe that something so small could change my life in such a big way. I have been pain free with out drugs or surgery for years now. My teeth have been saved from more damage because I don’t grind them any more. All I do is click the NTI into place before bed and I’m done. No effort involved. I’ve saved hundred’s in the process. I bit thru 2 of the bite guards that were designed to save my teeth. They were very expensive and didn’t do anything to prevent the pain. The NTI looked so small and I was very skeptical. It only took a week for me to be convinced that this was the answer for me. I simply can’t imagine going back to taking Advil every day for pain.

Therese L

5 out of 5 rating
Review for: The Minnesota Center for Minimally Invasive Dentistry Date Reviewed: January 12, 2013

I have suffered from migraine headaches for over twenty years. I’ve tried everything from “migraine” scented candles to medications that cost $500.00 a box. I’ve tried chiropractic adjustments, reflexology and massage therapy.

One day in October, my life changed forever. I was fitted with an NTI. My jaw got relief and rest. My migraines stopped. The pain that took a mother from her children, a wife from her husband, and kept a woman from enjoying her life for hours and days at a time is gone. I can sleep better and have more energy now. I’ve lost weight now that I’m not too tired to exercise during the day.

I’m thankful for my NTI, the dentists, doctors and technicians who developed it, and especially for Dr. Malterud and his staff for their empathy, concern and care.

I’m free from pain.

Brenda Delecki

5 out of 5 rating
Review for: The Minnesota Center for Minimally Invasive Dentistry Date Reviewed: August 13, 2012

Dear Mark

Thanks for asking my impression about the experience I had and continue to have using the NTI device. As you well know, I’ve been using it for several years now. You recommended it while examining my teeth and finding evidence of grinding during sleep. This was accompanied by some dental pain after some cavity work you’ve done.

We also discussed my headaches which all along I attributed to fatigue and stress. After your recommendation, although not particularly enthused, I followed your advice and used the NTI.

Although I never carried a particular diagnosis of migraine headaches or chronic headaches, I found a remarkable difference in their frequency once I used the NTI. The facial pain that many times accompanied my mornings after a stressful day at work went away. It remains present only when I forget to use the NTI!

As a personal observation, I found the NTI remarkably helpful for my sleep. I truly sleep better when I use it and find that I am more rested the next day.

I would be happy to participate in any data collection or the design of a study in order to assist other patients in finding the benefits of the NTI device. As you well know, I have no personal financial investment in this device and so I have no other motives of promoting it aside from what was stated above.

I hope you found this information helpful. Please let me know if I can be of any other assistance. Have a blessed Thanksgiving.

Nicoleta M., M.D.

5 out of 5 rating

What Our Patients Are Saying

After working with Dr. Malterud for a couple of weeks to get the right fit for my NTI, the results are great. I may still get a headache but only for a few hours and not severe.

— Judy Wiedl

It's hard to believe that something so small could change my life in such a big way. I have been pain free without drugs or surgery for years now. My teeth have been saved from more damage because I don't grind them any more.

— Therese L

Mark is the absolute best. I recommend him and his team to everyone. No matter where I live in the world, our family will always use his services. Worth traveling the world over for. Thanks Mark!

— Tony Z.

Schedule Your Complimentary Smile Consultation Today

Complimentary New Patient Certificate!

Complimentary 2D X-Rays (3D imaging not included. Up to a $162 value.)

Download Certificate

Cosmetic Dentistry Information Packet

How it works, how much it costs, and much more...

Download Packet